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Responsibilities of Educators Holding Alaskan Certificates:

e  Adhere to the Alaska Code of Ethics of the Education Profession.

e  Notify the Department of Education & Early Development of name and/or any address changes
(4AAC 12.415).

e  Know your certificate's effective and expiration dates. Your effective date is the date the complete
application packet is received by Teacher Education and Certification. (The Department of Edu-
cation & Early Development does not notify individuals of impending expiration dates.)

e  Meet renewal requirements before your certificate expires.
e  Keep current about any changes in certification regulations.

e  Notify a school district within 90 days of hire, of any sick leave that you expect to transfer from
previous employment. (AS 14.14.107) Sick leave can only be transferred if the teacher's service
has been continuous within the Alaska public school system. Continuous service is defined as up
to the last day of a school term and beginning within 30 days of the start of the next school term.
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What Happens When Your Certificate Expires?

A current, valid Alaska teacher certificate is required to teach in Alaska and in order to pay
into the Teachers’ Retirement System (TRS). When a certificate expires, a teacher cannot be the certi-
fied teacher in a classroom or pay into TRS.

When a certificate lapses, the licensee goes into a reinstatement period for one year. This
does not allow you to be a teacher in a classroom but does give you grandfather rights. Should you
not be able to complete whatever requirements are necessary, and the lapse in certification lasts more
than a year, you lose all grandfather rights and become an initial certification applicant. This means
you will have to meet any requirements you have not previously met, e.g., Praxis I reading, writing,
and math in order to be fully certified in Alaska.

A lapse in certification will affect your Teacher Retirement service credit, since you cannot
pay into the system unless you hold a current, valid Alaska teacher certificate.

When Teacher Certification learns of a lapsed certificate, your district will be notified, the
Teacher Retirement System will be notified, and the Professional Teaching Practices Commission
(PTPC) will be notified. When your certificate is reinstated, Teacher Certification will notify your
district, TRS, and the PTPC that your certificate is current and valid and that you are in compliance
with Alaska statutes requiring a current, valid teaching certificate.

The Professional Teaching Practices Commission will meet in general session January 31 and
April 23, 2012. Commission meetings are held in the Willawa conference room of the Alaska State
Library. 344 West 3rd Avenue in Anchorage. Meetings are open to the public.

Responsibilities of 1
Educators

Commission Action 2
Certificate Renewal 3
Requirements

Awards 4
PIWIWIWIWIWIW IS

COMMISSION MEMBERS

Dr. Linda Black (Chair)
Higher Ed Representative
Michael Husa (Vice Chair)
Teacher Representative
Cindy L. Aillaud (Secretary)
Teacher Representative

Jill Exe

Teacher Representative
Jeff Hebard

Teacher Representative
Eric Fry

DEED Representative
Richard Lum

Teacher Representative
Lou Pondolfino

Principal Representative
Patricia Truman
Executive Director

Atiya Barlow

Administrative Assistant

i

i “Don’t say anything online that
' you wouldn’t want

1

i plastered on a billboard with

: your face on it.”


http://eed.alaska.gov/TeacherCertification/20AAC10.html

“Teachingis not a
lost art, but the
regard for it is a lost
tradition.”

“Jacques Barzun ~
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COMMISSION ACTION

During its January 2011 meeting:

o the Commission suspended the Alaska Teacher Certificate of Adam Bode for one-year effective January

25,2011.
o the Commission issued a reprimand to Hans Werner.

e the Commission conducted administrative reviews of staff’s decisions to dismiss three (3) cases. Staff’s
decisions to dismiss were upheld in all three (3) cases.

During its April 2011 meeting:

o the Commission issued a one-year suspension of the certificate of Casey A. Spurlock effective December

30, 2010.

e  the Commission issued a7.5 month suspension of the certificate of Heath Day effective October 4,

2010.

e the Commission issued a reprimand to Adelina C. San Ramon.

e the Commission agreed to the Revocation for Life of the Alaska Teacher Certificate of Christopher A.
More.

o the Commission suspended the teacher certificate of Dawn Simon for one year effective April 22, 2010.

o the Commission suspended the teacher certificate of Brittany D. Seabury for one year effective April 22,
2010.

e the Commission conducted administrative reviews of staff’s decisions to dismiss five (5) cases. Staff’s
decisions to dismiss were upheld in all five (5) cases.

During its October 2011 meeting:

e the Commission approved a Petition of Reinstatement for Roberta (Borne) Armstrong.

o the Commission accepted the Surrender of the Teacher certificate and the Administrative certificate of
Ronald E. Frieh.

e the Commission issued a reprimand to Jerome D. Grogan.
e the Commission accepted the Surrender of the Teacher certificate of Grant R. Cochran.
o the Commission agreed to the Revocation for Life of the Teacher Certificate of Sheree G. Buchanan.

e the Commission suspended the teacher certificate of Katherine Kysar for one year effective May 20,

2011.

e the Commission suspended the teacher certificate of Marsha A. Bailey for one year effective May 20,

2011.
o the Commission accepted the Surrender of the Type M certificate of Daniel D. Page.
o the Commission accepted the Surrender of the Teacher Certificate of Shawn D. Mercer.
e the Commission issued a reprimand to Lester W. McCormick.
e the Commission issued a reprimand to Linda M. Sims.

e the Commission conducted administrative reviews of staff’s decisions to dismiss three (3) @
cases. Staff’s decisions to dismiss were upheld in all three (3) cases.

NOTICE!

Commission staff is available to provide presentations on the Code of Ethics of the Education Pro-
fession and the role of the Commission. The presentation includes discussions regarding professionalism
and professional responsibilities.

Contact the Professional Teaching Practices Commission at 907-269-6579 to arrange presentations
in your district.
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Amended Certificate Renewal Requirements Adopted

At its June 2011 meeting, the Alaska State School Board made revision to 4 AAC
12.405, changing the requirements for the renewal of a five or ten-year certificate. For
those certificates with an issue date of September 2, 2011 or later, the required six re-
newal credits must be:

1. Related to the certificated person’s employment at the time of renewal, if
that employment requires a certificate;

2. Related to the certificated person’s endorsement area(s); or

3. Arequired element of a program that will lead to an additional endorsement

The new requirements will only apply to renewable certificates with an issue date of September 2, 2011 or later. Certifi-
cates being renewed with an issue date prior to September 2, 2011 will not be required to comply with the new require-
ments.

If you have a certificate with an issue date of September 2, 2011, or later, and are concerned that a course you are
planning to take for renewal credit may not meet the requires listed above, you may request pre-approval by using
the form located at http://www.eed.state.ak.us/teachercertification/forms/renewal preapproval request.pdf.

The previous renewal requirements are still in effect. Six semester or nine quarter hours of credit is required for renewal
of all five and ten year certificates. Of those required credits, three semester or five quarter credits must be upper division
or graduate coursework earned from a regionally accredited university. The remaining three credits can by any combina-
tion of coursework earned from a regionally accredited university, continuing education units, or with prior approval, non-
academic credit.

kkkkkkkkkkhkhhhhx

Additional requirement for the Professional Teacher Certification Adopted

The Alaska State School Board has revised regulation 4 AAC 12.305 to require applicants for a Professional teacher certifi-
cate to have at least two years of employment as a teacher while holding a valid teacher certificate issued by a state. As of
September 17, 2011, individuals applying for a Professional certificate must satisfy this additional requirement. If the re-
quirement is not met, the applicant may qualify for a Second Initial teacher certificate. The two years of employment re-
quirement does not apply to applicants for Professional certification that hold a current Initial teacher

certificate which was valid on September 17, 2011.

i
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Applicants holding Alaska certification required to list all previous Alaska employment y‘

Effective September 2, 2011, all Alaska school districts are required to include a section on their certified position applica-
tions that request a list of all Alaska public school districts where the applicant has been employed. If an applicant failed to
include this information on the employment application, the applicant would be in violation of the code of ethics adopted
by the Professional Teacher Practices Commission.

Khkhkkxkkkhkhhkxkkhhkx

University of Alaska Electronic Transcripts Accepted

The Teacher Certification office is now accepting electronic transcripts issued by the University of Alaska. Individuals who
currently hold an Alaska teacher certificate may submit electronic transcripts by following the directions available at
http://www.eed.state.ak.us/teachercertification/transcripts.html. Electronic transcripts must be emailed to tcweb-
mail@alaska.gov.

kkkkkkkhhkhhhhhhx

Online Renewal Available

Alaska teachers, administrators, or special service providers who hold a certificate which is eligible for renewal or reinstate-
ment may complete most of the renewal process online. In order to be eligible to use the online renewal system, an individ-
ual must hold a renewable certificate that will expire within the next year or has expired less than a year ago. The Online
Renewal System is available at https://www.eed.state.ak.us/teachercertification/onlinerenewal.
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ALASKA TEACHER OF THE YEAR:

Spotlight
The Alaska Department of Education & Early Development named Cara Heitz, a science and health
teacher at Cordova Jr./Sr. High School, Alaska Teacher of the Year 2012 at a presentation during the
annual conference of the Association of Alaska School Boards in Anchorage.

Scott McKim, a teacher of science, math and applied technology at Begich Middle School in the Anchor-
age School District, was named Alternate Teacher of the Year 2012.

KKK KE IR IR R IR T **

MILKEN AWARD:

Matthew “Mark” Elfstrom received the 2011 Milken Family Foundation National Educator Award for
Alaska. Elfstrom teaches seventh-grade math at Romig Middle School in the Anchorage School District.
If a doctor, lawyer, or

dentist had 40 people in R
his office at one time, all
of whom had different ALASKA PRINCIPALS OF THE YEAR:
needs, and some of
whom didn't want to be The Alaska Association of Secondary School Principals selected Lisa Zelenkov, principal of Central Mid-
there and were causing dle School of Science in the Anchorage School District, as the Alaska Middle School Principal of the
trouble, and the doctor, Year.
lawyer, or dentist, with-
out assistance, had to Karen Gaborik, principal of Lathrop High School in the Fairbanks School District, was chosen as Alaska
treat them all with pro- High School Principal of the Year by the Alaska Association of Secondary School Principals.
fessional excellence for
nine months, then he Timothy Doran, principal of Denali Elementary School in the Fairbanks School District, was named a
might have some concep- National Distinguished Principal 2011 by the Alaska Association of Elementary School Principals.
tion of the classroom
teacher's ]ob HERKIEERFH AR K AR
“Donald D. Quinn ~ ALASKA SUPERINTENDENT OF THE YEAR:

The Alaska Association of School Administrators announced that Jim Nygaard has been selected by his
peers as Alaska’s Superintendent of the Year. Mr. Nygaard arrived in Alaska as the Southeast Island
School District superintendent in 2004, serving until 2008 when he was selected as the Cordova City
School District superintendent.
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“Take out your phones. Open the American History app and
turn to the page about George Washington.”




